Aimless Reminiscing – 1st Day

Reflecting1

With 2017 nearing its end, for many it is a time of festivities and indulgence. In this mood of celebration, family gatherings are to be expected, of course. And as it so happens, it is once again time for the 12 Days of Anime event! Which can in some ways be seen as a family gathering of sorts as well, but for the aniblogging community. Last year I wanted to take part but only managed to write up two days on a whim. This year I hope to fare better.

Reflecting2

Most of my writing for the upcoming days will be more focused. This won’t be structured around any single point, and there’ll be spoilers for TTGL and Death Note. I guess deep down I felt like reminiscing, and decided a blog post would be a good occasion for just that. Figured I’d prepare a small account of what my journey in this medium has been like.

As a kid, there were plenty of Japanese animation shows on TV that I’d watch (Digimon, Pokemon, Sailor Moon, Doraemon, Ojamajo Doremi, and more) but I’d never thought of them as anything different from Western animation. Around my late middle school years, I ran into Naruto on TV and my thirst for more led me to surf around and begin devouring pixelated episodes one after the other. Thus I began to learn about what “anime” was and how it differed from my “normal”, or what set it apart.

For the next few years, memories remain faint but my fandom mostly grew in the shadow of that specific show, and little else. I made sure to spread such interests in my group of friends at the time, but no one seemingly took to it like I did. To this day I still find some of them asking me if I remember when I liked those Japanese cartoons (little do they know, haha).

Reflecting2

 

By high school my interest was starting to die – I felt a jaded veteran of Naruto, seeing twists and turns coming miles ahead of their actual reveals, always disappointed. While I ran into a lot more people who I could enjoy the medium with, I tired of the franchise as well.

 

At the time, some of them introduced me to other series like TTGL, Durarara! or Death Note, all appropriate gateways for the kind of teen I was. I vividly remember staring in shock after episode 8 of TTGL during one afternoon alone at home, incapable of believing they’d put down the one character I stubbornly saw as the protagonist. In another instance, I was floored when L died, and had to stop watching for the day to digest it. Anime was heavy stuff, heh. I also started developing an interest in learning Japanese, amazed by certain classmates undertaking that effort already.

Reflecting4

 

During the preparation for college I had to put a lot of my hobbies aside, and not all of them returned so quickly. I thought to “outgrow anime”. Luckily, college friends helped me understand it didn’t have to be that way.

What mainly drew me in again, as a former bookworm, was the frequency with which anime could bring to motion a lot of settings and story-types I’d read about, that would otherwise be quite difficult to put together in live-action (or they’d look fairly odd and off-putting). Fantasy and science-fiction had been my blood and bones for a long time.

These days, I no longer have time the likes of which I stole from my college degree to dump into anime in past years. But it was wonderful while it lasted, and I’m left with a strong desire to keep up with the medium and the culture at large for the foreseeable future. In more recent years, I began reading reviews, first of the humorous kind, and afterwards more serious ones, and my understanding improved a lot thanks to that. I’ve still got too much to learn, but it’s thanks to the many anibloggers, amateurs or professionals, that I’ve gained much in my viewing experience, and now desire to share my own thoughts publically.

As a final note on that, I’ll be putting together a post later on showcasing some of the writers I feel I owe the most to.

For the most part, this wraps up this ramble of sorts! Fairly standard stuff, but that is just the way I like it.


3 thoughts on “Aimless Reminiscing – 1st Day

  1. Look forward to seeing who you are writing role models are, so to speak! Most of the people I meet in the blogging sphere tend to have someone that spurred on their creative pursuits and that will always be fascinating to hear about.

    Glad you realised that anime doesn’t have to be for youngsters. Like with films and books, there is so much variety that you can typically find something that suits your position in life, so you only ‘outgrow’ anime when you stop pushing the boundaries on what you watch.

    Looking forward to the next post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the comment! You were the first ever to do so on my blog.

      I’ll definitely list a few later on. Currently undecided on whether I’ll center a 12 Days post around that or not because it feels scarce in actual content, but maybe that’s not such a bad thing. Besides, I’ll likely be in desperate need for easier things to write about when it comes to the final days, heh.
      That being said, I didn’t mean that they’d be role models, so much as people whose output I’ve learned from and/or enjoyed. I guess those two things are similar in nature though.

      I’d even suggest you don’t have to necessarily push the boundaries – some people find their preferred topics, settle down and keep watching shows throughout the years without feeling like they should move on. In my case, I definitely yearn for some sense of progression, challenge or continued learning, but I’ve also figured out what genre of shows give me the greatest unfiltered joy and excitement. Sometimes it’s nice to just lie back and relax within your comfort zone.

      I’ve read some of your posts (around when I followed you on Twitter) but left the comments for later, they were interesting to go through. I’ll be looking forward to your holiday efforts as well!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Just seen some of my awful typos. I’m incredibly busy today so that’s obviously messing up my writing. Haha!

        Glad I have the honour of being your first commenter. That tends to happen a lot during 12 Days. Interaction can be hard to come by with newer blogs. Or at least one’s that don’t have a long history of posting. I try to read everything released during these 12 Days however, because the whole to point of it to me at least, is to get people talking and sharing things over the holiday season.

        Quite true about the boundaries thing! I’ll advocate for whatever gives people the most fulfilling experience from anime. It’s about what keeps us invested after all.

        Don’t worry about commenting or reading! I don’t want to push any expectations on you or anything, so just do whatever you’re comfortable with.

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment